Future in Nuc Med with certification in Nuclear Cardio and PET/CT

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (17)

Jerome K in Chicago, Illinois

54 months ago

Hey Im a graduating Nuc Med student later this summer with a BS, and I know the job market is going to be tough. I was curious if there were any benefit with getting the NMTCB certification in Nuclear Cardiology and PET/CT. I know there is a huge future in PET and the PET/CT certification may become standard, but I am curious if it worth pursuing these certifications right out of school(Also if looking into cross-training is worthwhile). Any insight would be greatly appreciated, and also any other pointers or advice for a future Tech would be openly welcome. Thanks!!!

-Jerome

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Zac Cockroft in Austin, Texas

54 months ago

Well, you cannot pursue these specialty exams right out of school. You have to accumulate so many hours as a full time Tech to sit for the Cardiology exam, and have to accumulate so many hours on a Pet/Ct scanner, all documented before you can sit for it. Go to the NMTCB website and it will tell you what you need to do before you can pursue them. The job market for new Technologist is very tight right now...good luck.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

NukeTech in Chicago, Illinois

54 months ago

Jerome,

What school are you currently attending? I am a recent graduate in the heavily saturated Chicago area and may have a few tips for a new tech.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Jerome K in Chicago, Illinois

54 months ago

Hey guys,

Im at the VA. I know I need to get experience hours as a full time Tech before getting in on these other specialty certifications, but I was curious if in your opinions it would be worth the time. Thanks for all the tips.

-Jerome

Zac Cockroft in Austin, Texas

54 months ago