Work in California for Australian trained NM Tech

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (48)

Karen in Sydney, Australia

81 months ago

Hi, I am from Sydney, Australia looking for work in California,preferably San Franscico. I have over 25 yrs experience on all levels including Chief Tech. I have a wealth of experience and knowledge, have PET and peadiatrics experience here and abroad,I am studying at Syd Uni towards a Masters degree. Have done a semseter at Uni on CT/SPECT and CT/PET so have the theory.Could I get sponsorship?
How do I become registered there in the States? Do I need to do exams?
Many Thanks

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

NMT in Charlotte, North Carolina

81 months ago

Karen in Sydney, Australia said: Hi, I am from Sydney, Australia looking for work in California,preferably San Franscico. I have over 25 yrs experience on all levels including Chief Tech. I have a wealth of experience and knowledge, have PET and peadiatrics experience here and abroad,I am studying at Syd Uni towards a Masters degree. Have done a semseter at Uni on CT/SPECT and CT/PET so have the theory.Could I get sponsorship?
How do I become registered there in the States? Do I need to do exams?
Many Thanks

There are hardly any openings for NMT's here in the USA. The job market is almost non existent. You can try to find a job, good luck. As far as getting sponsorship, that would be close to impossible. There are two certification boards that you can sit for to get registered, www.nmtbc.org & www.arrt.org, these are their web sites; there you will find more information on how to become registered. Yes, you will have to take exams. Hope this helps you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Karen Tok in Sydney, Australia

81 months ago

Thanks for the information Charlotte.