What other jobs have you been doing in the meantime?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

Mary in Morgantown, West Virginia

36 months ago

I have a BS degree in NMT, and like many of you, have not been able to find a job in this field. I recently accepted a job as a nursing assistant, which doesn't require anything more than a HS diploma. I was wondering what everyone else has been doing in the meantime and/or what other professions you all have moved to?

Something kind of off topic: One of my instructors had posted this, which made me have one of those 'wtf' moments.
"Our Nuclear Medicine Program is featured as one of the 12 Smart Majors! I am proud!!!" With a link to an article titled: '12 Smart Majors That Will Land You a Job After Graduation' (www.pittsburghmagazine.com/Pittsburgh-Magazine/September-2011/12-Smart-Majors/index.php?cparticle=3&siarticle=2#artanc).

Tell me what you think.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (8) / No Reply - Report abuse

mattiemjk in Chicago, Illinois

36 months ago

Articles like this really give a sense of the false propaganda going on to drum up students. Both new grads and seasoned NMT'S know the reality of the situation all to well, NO JOBS... The name of this article should be "Majors That Have NO CHANCE Of Landing A Job After Graduation (Nuclear Medicine). I agree this is a "WTF" moment' I think these programs have a lot of nerve publishing garbage like this knowing darn well there are no reasonable job prospects in Nuclear Medicine right now.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No Reply - Report abuse

HDH in Garland, Texas

35 months ago

Hello,
Nuke tech for 10 years in Dallas; employed (knock on wood),

My wife called the NMTCB a year ago (she's a tech too, out of work,...) to see what they're going to do about any of this if anything;