Advice for refocusing my professional career back to my educational degrees.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Steven

61 months ago

Hi everyone,

Like many people my first few jobs have little connection to my degrees, but I am wanting to refocus to healthcare admin. I have a masters in Public Admin with an additional certificate in Healthcare Admin. I have a second masters in Industrial Relations and finally my bach in Economics.
I have been working in the private sector for about 5 years, first in medical sales and now in an Account Executive position. This position does parellel many jobs in admin such as forecasting, expenses, patient assistance, constant education of staff, contracting arrangements and agreements, etc.

I am looking for direction and advice on what would be the best approach to get start a career in healthcare admin. Any advice would be greatly appricated and thank you in advance.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Jason in Woodbridge, Virginia

61 months ago

we'll first of all health care is one of the leading industries for hire you'll have a pretty good success rate at acquiring a position. as far as starting a career in healthcare administration your best approach would be to find health care companies who are hiring and sell them your resume. You have an amazing eduaction background, this advantage will get you in an entry level position with no problem, not to menchon you have some work experience in the field as well. Your resume is key and I would recommend that you perfect that first before anything else. Getting to know people in theindustry is also a valuable way to start your career. Networking with those who are doing it can not only advice you but can get you in a great company. Getting in is what you should be worried about and these ways should help you greatly. Good luck!

stephanie

61 months ago