Recruiters

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

Rachel in Los Angeles, California

88 months ago

I am starting to believe that recruiters are not out there to help new NHA. They are trying to prove that their company can deliver the "top of the line" NHA. I cannot blame them; however, I would LOVE to name a particular company who bluntly told me that I will be a difficult placement. That this particular company cannot assist with candidates like myself.

At least gives us some kind of hope. Way to go on that depression meter. Who do we turn to for assistance?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

bsg4884 in Albuquerque, New Mexico

67 months ago

Would you mind telling me in confidence who it was? I'm a 15 year veteran with no job and the same blah blah blah

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Matt Greenberg in Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania

67 months ago

I am a recruiter in PA and I spend several hours per month speaking to newly licensed and/or inexperienced NHA's telling them that I cannot help them. In fact, I would be a barrier to their employment due to the fees associated w/ my representation.

What I do tell them is how to go about a search on their own. Look to companies w/ less than stellar reputations. Look to positions paying below market salaries. Look for locations that are undesirable and be fluid.
Be persistant. Be proactive. I've known dozens of brand new NHA's who have landed in those types of situations.

I love speaking to new NHA's and helping with their search, albeit for self-serving reasons. These are future candidates who (hopefully) will eventually have the necessary experience to warrant my representation. Or they can become future clients in need of DON's or other nursing management.