Bio undergrad but want a masters in Nutrition...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

a girl in San Diego, California

41 months ago

Hello, I'm looking for a career change and I'm wondering if I can do this: I have a bachelors in Dev and Cell Bio from a good science school and I'd like to get a masters in nutrition. Are online nutrition degrees worth anything? Or if I did an on-campus masters, what would I need to do to be accepted to a masters program?

I've seen an online program from the "Institute for Integrative Nutrition", has anyone heard anything about a degree from this place?

Thank you in advance for any advice or thoughts.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

Olivia-S in Middlefield, Connecticut

40 months ago

I am a Registered Dietitian, who is coincidentally looking for employment after completing four years undergrad, a year long internship, and sitting for my Registration exam. I still need to get a state license. I wanted to respond to your post to let you know that if you really want to get into nutrition, there are some serious issues to consider. Most people only want to hire RDs and to become one at your level (as I had a minor in Biology myself) would require at least two years to get the Didactic requirements to then get into an internship or masters (you could do a combo to get both). These internships are extremely competitive and unpaid. Most of the online degrees are worthless. If you would like to learn more about schools that qualify for online classes check out The American Dietetic Association's website at eatright.org. If you are looking to get into a new field you may want to consider looking into a Food Science career. This has less stringent requirements and you have many of the prereqs already.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No Reply - Report abuse

A. in Los Angeles, California

40 months ago