Am I a Competitive Applicant?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Eli in Rapid City, South Dakota

17 months ago

Hello, my name is Eli and would like to know whether or not I am a competitive applicant from Occupational Therapists. I graduated with a Bachelor of Science with a 3.59 GPA. My major was psychology, and minor biology. My prerequisite GPA ranges around 3.5 to 3.55, depending upon the graduate program. I have yet to take the GREs. Two of the schools I am looking at don't require them. I am slightly concerned about what I would score in the math section, as I was a nontraditional student and didn't practice algebra or geometry for years.

I have 564 hours of working directly with the developmentally disabled. I was a direct support professional, and assisted clients with ADLs and implemented "supports" to increase independency and to facilitate community inclusion. I also administered medications under a nurse's license. I have worked with clients who were diagnosed with Fetal Alcohol Syndrome, Autism Spectrum Disorder, Down Syndrome, and Willi Prader Syndrome. I have had CPR training (which I plan to renew), Crisis Prevention Intervention training, and HIPAA training.

I was a statistics tutor, and helped gather data for research on special olympics athletes. I volunteered for the Special Olympics for approximately 20-24 hours (this is undocumented however). I also volunteered for the Veterans' Affairs Health Administration for approximately 60 hours (this is also undocumented).

The Head Administrator of my school (who is also a neurobiologist), and a psychologist (who has owned her own private practice for many years) are willing to write letters of recommendation for me.