Career Change to OT

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (10)

Fabrizio1981 in Hastings On Hudson, New York

33 months ago

Hi everyone - I am 30 yrs old and have been working as a web developer since college {bachelor of science in marketing} but I am looking to switch into the OT field. In the past I have worked as a personal trainer, volunteered a local emergency room and after doing research on what an occupational therapist does, feel this is where I want to be.

My question is in terms of education. Where do I start?

I now know there are various levels of occupational therapy, ranging from a B.S. to M.S. to PhD. I've also seen the more junior level fields such as OT Aid and OT Assistant.

I have my bachelors but have taken minimal science courses so I'm sure if I wanted to enter any program, pre-reqs would be required. What would you guys do if you wanted to entirely switch your life around and train to become an OT? Do I quit my job, find a job as an Aid and then first attain an assistant degree? Can you work full time while doing all of this?

Any experience from fellow career-changers would be greatly appreciated! I think once the work is done the career would be fantastic, the problem is getting over the fear and dramatic change it takes to begin. Thanks

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

MSG in Salinas, California

33 months ago

I am going through what you are. If you can take all of the pre-reqs without quitting, that's a good thing to do. However, most schools require many hours of job shadowing. I don't see how you will be able to accomplish this outside a normal 9 to 5 M-F schedule. I have been able to shadow an OT at a local hospital during the weekends, but she has been really flaky and weird, and now I'm having to look elsewhere. It's tough finding an OT to shadow outside their normal schedules (8 to 4; M-F).

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (1) Reply - Report abuse