Dilemma about whether or not to stay in OT school

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (15)

OTstudent6 in Indianapolis, Indiana

24 months ago

So I'm in my second semester of grad school to get my masters in OT. Since the beginning I've had second thoughts about whether or not this field is for me. I was attracted to the field because I felt like I wanted to help people and this field pays well and is high in demand. While I still want to help people, I'm not very comfortable with the intimacy involved with the job (bathing and toileting people). I'm in a predicament on whether to stay with it because, on one hand I can stay with it and have a decent job when it's all said and done, but I could also be unhappy and end up wishing I would have gotten out while I could and not have been so far in debt. I know ultimately I need to make this decision...but any input would be much appreciated. Thanks.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (7) / No Reply - Report abuse

24 months ago

A couple of additional comments I want to add to elaborate on my situation:
* I'm kind of squeamish and feel that I could have never been a nurse (when in reality OT's do some similar tasks as CNAs).
* I originally was most interested in being a school OT, but my fielwork educator informed me that they get paid on a teacher's salary (I just hate to go so in debt with grad school to get paid like a teacher).
* I'm really good at working hard, in fact I have straight A's so far in the program. I'm just worried that when it comes time to do my full time fieldwork, and I end up in inpatient or SNF, that I won't be able to handle it and will fail. This is not so unheard of in my program either. I know that several students failed level 2 fieldwork last semester.

That's all...I really appreciate any feedback....good or bad. I just want people to be honest with me!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

OT123 in Los Angeles, California