OTA to OT Route

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 59)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

OTGURu in Saint Louis, Missouri

81 months ago

Did anyone transition from OTA to OT and would you recommend it?

I have posted here before and I have a masters in Nutrition but want to break into OT so badly. I cannot afford to go to MOT school full time since I have a family. So I was thinking about going to Community College for OTA while still working, and then apply for a weekend only MOT program for OTAs and keep working as an OTA as I obtain my MOT. It would be a long process but at least I would not put my family through the financial stress of going to school full-time.

I am 35 with two young kids--1 year and 4 years.
At the end of it all, I will have a $20,000 increase in my annual salary. My salary as an OTA will be equivalent to what I am currently making with a masters. Th only hit I will take if I go this route will be the student loan but at least I won't loose any income.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (33) / No (7) Reply - Report abuse

LA in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

79 months ago

I have been an OTA for 10 years and did the weekend program at West Virginia University...I just graduated! I would strongly recommend it, the process was stressful at times however it was worth it. I was able to go to the school once a month for classwork, midterms and finals. I would not have been able to be a conventional student due to having a family as well. Go for it!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (43) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Jennifer in Charleston, West Virginia

74 months ago