I'm torn between becoming a Speech Language Pathologist or Occupational Therapist?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (251 to 298 of 298)
Page:  « First « Previous   3  4  5  6   

Lauren in Westminster, California

27 months ago

MoreShore I just read your post and even though I'm not an SLP have you thought of relocating to find job opportunities that are more up your alley? I just want to say that I feel for you in regards to working with the severely autistic. I was a behavior therapist for a short period of time and I felt sooo in over my head, bless their hearts but it wasn't for me at all and it's refreshing to hear someone else admit this.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

MoreShorePls in New Jersey

27 months ago

Lauren in Westminster, California said: MoreShore I just read your post and even though I'm not an SLP have you thought of relocating to find job opportunities that are more up your alley? I just want to say that I feel for you in regards to working with the severely autistic. I was a behavior therapist for a short period of time and I felt sooo in over my head, bless their hearts but it wasn't for me at all and it's refreshing to hear someone else admit this.

Hi Lauren, I can't even imagine being a behavior therapist! What did you end up switching to instead (maybe it will give me ideas)?? It seems like that's what a lot of the SLPs in my area are essentially doing now, though, as they pretty much all work in schools with autistic kids. I just feel so stupid for somehow not realizing this during grad school, it's like I had all of these pie-in-the-sky ideas of what actual SLP jobs would be like that were so far from reality. I don't know where the straight-forward artic/language cases at cushy school/private practice jobs that end at 3 p.m. actually exist, but it seems completely impossible to find them. Anywhere. ESPECIALLY as a CF/"new" grad.