Is this a good plan to become an OTA?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Sly2314 in Evanston, Illinois

28 months ago

Hi everyone.

Alright, I'm fresh out of high school and I've decided to become an OTA as I believe it'll be a great job for me. I was originally going to go to a four year college and major in biology and also pre-occupational therapy. I was then greeted by over 100k debt I would have once I graduated. As the youngest, with older siblings who were in a similar situation...I didn't want that for myself. Then researched more and found out that I could become an OTA just with a associate's degree(Am I right?). The colleges that offer this are community colleges, so therefore they're significantly cheaper(yay!).

To wrap this up, I'm just asking if this is a better way to go about this...Or should I go with the actual college because it might prepare me more? Also if you could offer some tips, I'd greatly appreciate them.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

gmc in Spring Valley, New York

28 months ago

I'm 25 and I'm starting my COTA program in the fall at my community college. I sometimes would like to be like my friends and have a 4-year degree (I skipped college and went straight to massage therapy school after high school), but I know many people who have been out of college for years now and they're still paying off their debt, in jobs that have nothing to do with their degree.