4-year degree required. *sigh*

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 70)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Unhappy in Dallas, Texas

65 months ago

I see this all day, every day. Paralegal job ads that specifically state that a Bachelor's degree is required. I have 6 years of experience as a litigation paralegal and have been told countless times that I don't qualify for positions due to lack of a 4-year degree.

The kicker is that there are no 4-year paralegal degrees in my area that I'm aware of. There are some pre-law BAs, paralegal ASs and paralegal certificates. So am I essentially being told that a person with a degree in kinesiology stands a better chance of landing a paralegal job than me, despite 6 years of experience in the field? It's absurd, and offensive.

This never used to be the case, so I'm not sure when or where this trend started. When I entered the field as a file clerk I saw few ads with a 4-year educational requirement. Very few. Now it is the norm. Where does that leave the people who began as file clerks and worked their way up through the ranks with dedication and hard work, gaining actual hands-on experience? Why the industry shift?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (20) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Paralegal in Dallas, Texas

65 months ago

There are so many paralegals looking for work and the paralegal certificate doesn't mean much - or rather it's not really clear what it means. Is it from an ABA approved school? Is the school legit? Is it a mail order paralegal certificate? Is it a fly by night school? A 4 year degree means something fairly consistent.