Choosing between ABA-approved and non-ABA approved certification program...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 100 of 565)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  4  5  Next »   Last »

Lynn Gale in Manhattan Beach, California

98 months ago

Displaced Legal Professional in Denver, Colorado said: Lynn Gale in Manhattan Beach, California: "I think for me it comes down to the crash courses in the masters program not so appealing. I hear what you say about how the certificate is all that I need at this point. My problem, however, is how to make up for lack of experience, since as an older adult I will not have the years of experience to catch up."

Everyone is new at one time in any industry. I think that for you age discrimination will be your biggest worry. However, FWIW, I was 42 when I changed careers a second time and attended paralegal school. I was hired into my first job four months after I graduated.

I consider myself to be extremely fortunate to have been hired so quickly. I recall people in my school who had graduated six months before I did and who appeared to be my age. They were still looking for jobs when I was hired. It's been a while, but I recall that some of them may have had prior legal experience.

Which ABA college program are you considering? Our fora has a poster, dh in NorCal, a former legal secretary, who earned an ABA certificate in the UCLA program. It sounds like a good program and, according to dh, awards post-grad credit to boot. Her comments appear on this thread:

www.indeed.com/forum/job/litigation-paralegal/05390c183c137e19777a4206/05390c183c137e1b777e4b0617#c166926

Good luck with however you proceed.

I am 58, (look and feel younger) and would do the ABA certificate program at UC Irvine if I do not do the Master's, because it is not accelerated as UCLA Westwood's ABA program is very accelerated.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Lynn Gale in Manhattan Beach, California