Flunked out of law school, paralegal good route?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (18)

needlawinmylife in Auburn Hills, Michigan

34 months ago

Only law school I could get accepted into was in Michigan.
Flunked out after 1 1/2yrs. Loved the material but couldn't test well I guess.
Going back home this Sept, at a crossroads in my life and I have to choose some sort of career. I still am interested in law and it kills me inside that I lost my chance to become an attorney.

I think that becoming a paralegal might make me feel somewhat satisfied. Any advice? I'm sure my background is not atypical but what are the chances of getting a legal assistant/paralegal job just with my law school exp and no certificate? I am already 50k in debt so I don't want to throw around 5-15k for no reason. However, I tried for 2 years after I did my undergrad to get any job, even in the mail room, but I was unsuccessful. Thanks in advance.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

BG in Carlsbad, California

34 months ago

You saved yourself a bundle of money and headaches, because unless you graduate from a top tier law school, the likelihood of securing a job as a lawyer is next to nil. The legal profession is on its way out and will gradually be replaced by virtual legal services, advanced legal software and alternative dispute resolution, minimizing litigation. As we move towards a deregulation of legal services, many professions will take on an increased role in legal matters, such as accountants, business administrators, real estate agents, government workers, and so on.

I would advise against becoming a paralegal since it's a vocation that will phased out - alongside of lawyers - over the next ten years. With the software that's out now, people with advanced computer skills can perform much of the work that is now being rendered by paralegals.