Paralegal Career Plan and Marketability? What advice can you give to a potential paralegal?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (11)

IsItReallyThatBad in Orange, California

45 months ago

I graduated from a top school with a degree in Economics. I went to law school and was second in class before I developed a mental illness and was unable to complete law school. After a few years of recovery, I'm ready to go back into the work force. What advice can you give me regarding my marketability as a paralegal were I to go into a paralegal program?

Here is a list of pro's I developed in terms of marketability:
1. Graduated from a top school with a strong GPA
2. Was second in class in law school
3. I have many friends who are lawyers, so if in the future any of them branch out on their own I'm sure they would want me on their team.

Here is a list of con's I developed in terms of marketability:
1. Just about everything I have read here.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

45 months ago

Displaced Legal Professional in Denver, Colorado said: One more thought for you, IsItReallyThatBad. You were studying to become a lawyer until you fell ill. Would you be satisfied working in a subordinate role to lawyers when you know that but for your illness you could have been one yourself?

Just food for thought.