Paralegal Grad Having Trouble Finding Work

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (11)

Donald in Cliffside Park, New Jersey

64 months ago

Hi everyone,

I am only a few weeks away from earning my BS in paralegal studies from Kaplan Univeristy. I'm in New York City, and I am having a ton of trouble finding an entry level paralegal job. Almost all of the job postings I see want soem sort of experience. I applied for a few jobs, but heard no response. I'm just curious, is having an online degree a major disadvantage in the paralegal field?

Right now I don't know what to do. I am deciding whether I should apply for government work in the DAs office, US attorney's office, etc. or if I should take a part time job while I do my MBA.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Donald_ in New Jersey

64 months ago

Thanks for the reply. So is my main problem that I got my degree online, or that it is not ABA-approved? Because I would imagine that someone with a BS in paralegal studies would be more attractive than someone with a completely unrelated degree and a paralegal certificate.

Donald_ in New Jersey

64 months ago

Do you know how I can get a part time paralegal job? I wanted to have a part time job while I do my MBA.

Mary inTampa in Tampa, Florida

64 months ago

Do you know how I can get a part time paralegal job? I wanted to have a part time job while I do my MBA.

Sure: DO A JOB SEARCH.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

Donald_ in New Jersey

64 months ago

I was just wondering whether an ABA certificate is really that important because when I search monster, career builder, etc. I have only seen one or two jos specifically require an ABA certificate. In fact, I have actually seen more jobs require fluency in a foreign language than an ABA certificate.

Mary inTampa in Tampa, Florida

64 months ago

Don, you're beginning to be a pain in the butt.