So, what do I do?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (16)

Dana J. in Dallas, Texas

37 months ago

Okay, so I graduated with a Liberal Arts B.A. in 2008. Since then, there have been no employment prospects available for me - no fast food, no retail, no secretarial gigs, I even tried to hire myself out as a maid... no takers. I looked into nursing and decided that I'm not up for the constant threat of communicable illness, the stress of dying people/high nurse:patient ratios and physical attacks from patients, so I decide to indulge my longstanding interest in the legal field. I have enough undischargable debt from my undergrad degree and have heard enough horror stories to avoid law school, so I decide that perhaps a career as a paralegal's a fine way to have my cake and eat it. Additionally, I study the OOH and it says that the field is one of the fastest growing, and the median pay is commensurate with what I could hope to recieve as a wandering liberal arts major. I come here, however, and learn that that's apparently not the case.