Unemployed Paralegal looking for help! I was told the field was suppose to need paralegals and finding that to be untrue.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (39)

Unemployed in Kansas City, Missouri

72 months ago

Hello everyone! I was hoping to seek some help. I entered into college as an undecided major. I started to complete my associates as a general for transfer. I started to get an interest by taking a class as an elective and started to do more research about the paralegal field. According to the articles I read it said the paralegal field was supposed to grow over the next ten years. Even just only two weeks ago I read an article that Paralegal is suppose to be “Great Career Changes for 2011” saying that it would be a quick easy career change for the unemployed because it is suppose to have jobs. I laughed because I have had a paralegal associate’s degree since May 2009 and have been unable to find a job. I graduated with my A.A.S in paralegal studies May 2009, found a job for a small firm August 2009, then three months later was laid off ever since then I have been unable to find a job. Most of the replies I get read something along the line, “while you were highly qualified for this position you were not among the highest qualified and we have chose another candidate”. I had two seasonal jobs I worked while attending college and still at them because that is the only “steady” employment I have. I know the recession is hurting everyone, but there must be some people still doing good since people are still spending money, taking vacations, supporting families, and being hired for the same jobs I am.