Work at Home Paralegal Opportunities?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 125)
Page:   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

Possible paralegal in Yorktown Heights, New York

94 months ago

I'm a stay at home mom and would like to pursue a paralegal career in the near future. I have a Bachelor's in English and 8 years of legal secretarial experience. I would pursue an on-line paralegal certificate program. I was wondering if there are work at home paralegal opportunities? If so, do people generally get those options after working at a firm and proving themselves? I would like to start working from home and then go to a firm once my kids are bigger. I appreciate any advice. Thank you.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (391) / No (26) Reply - Report abuse

94 months ago

Thank you for your advice. I will pursue an ABA certificate. I agree that I have to be careful about being thrown back into a pure secretarial role. I'm wondering if I should put off getting the certificate until I'm ready to go outside the home to work or if I should just get the certificate while I have the time to do it.

Thanks again.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (14) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

GG in Birmingham, Alabama

94 months ago

Displace Legal Prof, you keep saying pursue ABA degree. That may not be as easy for some as for others.

There are about six aba approved progams in my state, and the only aba approved course in my city (whcih is the largest in ALA)is a certificate that requires a bachelor's initially and this program costs 8,000+.

The closest other program is a one/half hour drive. It may not be that easy for some people who read your advice, which is good advice, to go to a aba school near them.