The real truth about the Paralegal Profession

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (37)

Legalmagic in Los Angeles, California

65 months ago

Over the last few months, I have been looking into returning back to the Paralegal profession. Previously, I worked in several law firms as a Paralegal. However, it has been about 7 years since I actually did the work of a Paralegal. I wanted to get some current information about the profession and wondered upon this site. I have to say that after reading the many hundreds of comments about the paralegal profession I am a little taken back about what people have to say about it. I must admit, that when I was a paralegal, though not the greatest job in the world, it certainly wasn't the worst. But after reading all the negative entries, I am really having second thoughts. I do realize that the majority of the comments are from the same few people and certainly do not represent, what I would consider, the feelings of all paralegals. I would like to ask the majority of the paralegal population, how they feel about the profession. Is it really that bad?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Paralegal in Dallas, Texas

65 months ago

I've been in the profession 10 years and it's changed during that time. Clients are very very picky about what they will and won't pay for. Billing guidelines are just so strict. During my first years, that wasn't the case. A case could be worked up however the attorneys and paraglegals wanted and needed to work it up. Not anymore.

Now you think, I should organize that box of materials sitting there, but the client won't pay for that, so what else can I call it and you have to get creative and even lie about it... or you do it and don't bill your time ...or you just don't do it.

Another change is the move to a paperless environment.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No Reply - Report abuse

Jane Do Girl in Pensacola, Florida