Alternative Careers in Pharmacy

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 268)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

akshay in Calgary, Alberta

77 months ago

iam a bpharm graduate from india.i have 7 years experience in working as a pharmacist .i came here in april.what jobs i get here without getting licence.how to get certificates from alberta college of pharmacy.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (46) / No (15) Reply - Report abuse

trc in Fairport, New York

62 months ago

just wondering what you are opting to do at this point. I am an RPh in retail thinking (at age 54) of getting a pharm d in order to (hopefully) stay competative. But, with the glut of pharm-d''s being predicted, am I just wasting my time??? Kind of hard at my age to get out of retail completely!

mred in Morrisville, Pennsylvania said: I am in a situation similar to your moms. I took a retirement from my government job 2 years ago, then worked as a pharmacist in a mail order pharmacy for almost 2 years. Worked like a machine, but for good pay. Despite all that is said to the contrary almost all pharmacy jobs are "lick and stick" dispensing jobs. I don't want any part of them. Pharmacy is one field that experience and background counts for next to nothing. You essentially are a licensed robot, and that's it. The reason there is a current shortage in most areas is that the chains have been expanding, and they need human fodder for their operations. With the greatly increased number of pharmacists who will be graduating within the next few years, you can expect a glut on the way in 3-4 years. All this nonsense about increased demand due to aging population is a lot of bull. Vastly improved technology is on the way as well as licensed technicians. The role of the pharmacist is more easily delegated to other disciplines than almost any other health care field !!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (35) / No (11) Reply - Report abuse