Don't become a Pharmacist

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 385)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

MsKappaK in Houston, Texas

55 months ago

You are a slave to the owners. You will do whatever they decide they want you to do to make them more money (give immunizations, work with insufficient support staff). Anything the customer says against you, you will pay for. It does not matter if the customer is lying. If the customer complains, you will be reprimanded. It pays well, but you get no respect- from the customers nor from the corporation. It is so bad that I have been looking for a $10-$15 per hour data-entry job with insurance benefits where I just type all day and everyone basically leaves me the f--- alone.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (338) / No (135) Reply - Report abuse

Steve in Reno, Nevada

48 months ago

Hi Arthur,

I am an older student considering Pharm school as well as other fields. Your comments really got my attention. Can we talk about this? I need to make the right decision and your advice would be appreciated.

Arthur in Cincinnati, Ohio said: You are correct that the BLS states that there will be job openings for pharmacists. What the BLS doesn't tell you is HOW MANY PEOPLE tbere will be COMPETING for those jobs. When BLS says there's 30,000 jobs, that means there are 30,000 jobs in the US, regardless of how many are already filled. Sure, there'll be an increase in the number of jobs, but there's gonna be a MASSIVE increase in the number of PharmDs competing for those jobs. It's because of all the new schools opening, and the old ones increasing their class sizes - there are just too many pharmacists in the USA.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (56) / No (19) Reply - Report abuse

AK in Boston, Massachusetts

47 months ago