Boston Reed Pharmcay Tech Class??

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (51 to 100 of 126)
Page:  « Previous   1  2  3  Next »   Last »

techteacher in Escondido, California

56 months ago

It sounds like it all depends on who you get as a teacher. Boston Reed has some really great teachers who actually care about the students. The new program has an all new set of books by a different author(s). I agree, the old book by Moini was full of errors and not relevant subject matter. As a teacher, I too was frustrated by the book and spent countless hours coming up with additional material to help my students. I NEVER just read the powerpoint lectures to students. I supplement the course material with relevant information and PRACTICAL tech knowledge. I come up with ideas to make labs more real life...like YES each student will actually have a calculation to do (each student a different dose but same idea) for the final involving making an IV. We make pretend prescriptions and set up a pharmacy store to practice choosing correct meds and preparing pharmacy labels....we do calculations for compounding and then actually grind tablets and come up with concentrations ...we make IVs learning sterile technique over and over not just once as the basic course allows.... I have been a hospital tech for over 20 years and I do have a degree from a prestigious university....so teaching math, while quite a challenge for some students to learn is a priority for my students. Anyone who needs help on these forums is welcome to contact me. Teachers, that includes you....I can offer hints and suggestions on how to make your class more FUN...first and foremost though is for the teacher to know the material inside and out....

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (6) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

miszjona in Tracy, California

54 months ago