Males in PTA

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (12)

Ross Damman in Cincinnati, Ohio

57 months ago

I was just curious on the percentage of males in the Physical Therapy Field. Does anyone have any information on this?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Aphex in Falls Church, Virginia

57 months ago

Yes,
The percentage of males in this profession ranges from 15 to 20% according to the American Physical Therapy Association.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

57 months ago

Thank's for the info.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

57 months ago

Do males have any advantages in this field? just curious again.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

57 months ago

I'm not sure what you exactly mean by "advantages", but all I can tell you is that I'm a PTA male student and I've been in PTA school for two and half months so far and I find it very satisfying personally and professionally. You will get to learn so many things and skills that will make you a great therapist. I'm not sorry I chose PTA as my future profession. Good luck and don't think too much of the gender factor b/c it's not a real issue.

Ashraf

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

smokey34 in Elkhart, Indiana

56 months ago

i am very frustated and need to know ASAP. Anyone please help! i am currently in the pta program in my area and am almost finished with course work. In about 4 months i am suppose to start with part of my extensive field work. Now, i have a simple battery conviction that i incurred a few months back. Will that automatically disqualify me from doing the field work or even getting my licence? what if, come time to apply for the test i provide all information regarding the conviction and recommendations and references received from concelling, would that help?