Advantages of PA vs Physician

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1001 to 1050 of 1132)
Page:  « First « Previous   18  19  20  21  22  23  Next »   Last »

teacher2PA in Brooklyn, New York

28 months ago

Hello everyone. I am a NYC teacher who is almost at the 10 year mark which will entitle me to my pension. I graduated from Brown U in 97 and was premeditated. I always had this innate desire to pursue medicine, but as a single mom itvwould have been difficult to go to med school and not work. I am now considering PA as my many friends who are MDs consider PAs golden and given my age and finances, med school is out of reach for me. I reached out to SUNY DOWNSTATE and they have alerted me thatvi would have to take AP, CHEM and my biologies over because they are so outdated. They recommended i try the CLEP courses to lessen the time and especially since I am still working. Here is my request from all of you in this wonderful blog: 1) are there any PAs out there who started as a second career, if so how was the transition? 2) how is the workload? Can i work parttime or is it best to.just knock it all out and concentrate solely on my studies? 3) should i be volunteering now before I apply? 4) do I sound crazy changing careers so late? Lil 5) are there any 2nd career programs out there?
Thanks for all of your help (hey Omar..any thoughts?)
Teach2PA

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

teacher2PA in Brooklyn, New York

28 months ago

*pre med not premeditated..that's what I get for not proofreading lol

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Cathy in Albuquerque, New Mexico

28 months ago