Finding a job after failing PANCE

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (11)

indigopa in Winterville, Georgia

55 months ago

I am a reasonably new grad (May 2009) who failed the PANCE, but I passed in March 2010 and I am now on the job market. I have had several interviews, but things go south when I tell my prospective employer that I have failed. I understand the concern behind this, but I would appreciate any suggestions on how to move forward and convince future employers I am a safe bet. I've thought about trying to set up a rotation with a local MD to gain a bit more experience and develop a personal relationship. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Jenny in Los Angeles, California

54 months ago

indigopa in Winterville, Georgia said: I am a reasonably new grad (May 2009) who failed the PANCE, but I passed in March 2010 and I am now on the job market. I have had several interviews, but things go south when I tell my prospective employer that I have failed. I understand the concern behind this, but I would appreciate any suggestions on how to move forward and convince future employers I am a safe bet. I've thought about trying to set up a rotation with a local MD to gain a bit more experience and develop a personal relationship. Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks!

Don't tell them you failed. Just say that you look time off. Less is more. Just because you failed a test doesn't indicate anything. The bottom line is that you have passed the PANCE, you are a PA-C and that you are licensed to work.

The employers that don't want you....is their LOSS. Don't put such little value on yourself. Crap happens and you passed and are ready to work. Good luck!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (13) / No Reply - Report abuse

Anonymous in Langhorne, Pennsylvania

51 months ago