Low Undergraduate GPA...What to do?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

MinnieCL in Carson, California

55 months ago

I graduated with a Bachelor's Degree in Biological Sciences, but unfortunately my GPA is around a 2.5, which is under the minimum GPA requirement of most PA programs so they probably won't consider me. I have some health care experience, but I am planning to do more volunteering and hopefully get a job that involves more patient contact experience. I really want to pursue PA as a profession, but after looking at the requirements of PA programs, I feel really discouraged. Should I even attempt to apply to PA programs with that low of a GPA? What else can I do that will allow programs to even consider me despite my low GPA?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (26) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

MinnieCL in Carson, California

55 months ago

I'm currently enrolled in a couple of classes at a community college and I have an interview for a hospital volunteer internship where I would get patient care hours. Hopefully things will turn up from here. Thanks for the advice and encouragement. I really appreciate it! :)

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

mike in Jacksonville, Florida

53 months ago

MinnieCL in Carson, California said: I graduated with a Bachelor's Degree in Biological Sciences, but unfortunately my GPA is around a 2.5, which is under the minimum GPA requirement of most PA programs so they probably won't consider me. I have some health care experience, but I am planning to do more volunteering and hopefully get a job that involves more patient contact experience. I really want to pursue PA as a profession, but after looking at the requirements of PA programs, I feel really discouraged. Should I even attempt to apply to PA programs with that low of a GPA? What else can I do that will allow programs to even consider me despite my low GPA?