What type of clinical job experience should I look into doing for PA programs?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (10)

Sabrina in Pompano Beach, Florida

60 months ago

I graduated with a BA in Sociology and had a job doing research afterward. I heard about PA and I really think I would do well at this job and enjoy it.

I am starting to get discouraged though because I am really not sure what type of job I can find under a Physician because most schools are requesting the 2000 hours of clinical experience or the recommendations from a health clinician you have worked under and I have no medical training really. Whatever I did at my last job was with no formal training or certification even though it was similar to being a medical assistant.

I have looked into respiratory therapy, emt, certified nursing aide, and so on. All these programs require that you do a training program and then sit for certification and some just take way too long. I am already working on doing my science prereqs which are gonna take at least 2 years.

Are there any jobs I can get under a PA or a Physician where I wouldn't necessarily have to get any certification or anything like that to work? I will work for free!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (65) / No (9) Reply - Report abuse

Kristina in Blountville, Tennessee

58 months ago

I'm in the same boat that you are! I was an English Secondary Education major, but after spending some time outside of school, and doing some research, I really feel like being a physician assistant is the route that I want to go. It's going to take me a good year and a half to two years to complete my pre-reqs, and I have no medical experience, but don't know that I have the time to get the certification needed to get good hands on experience. I'm planning to shadow PAs to make sure that this is something I want to do, and I want to get as much experience as possible, but I'm not sure how to do it!