Can I get a job as a police officer at the age of 40?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 64)
Page:   1  2  Next »   Last »

Rail Roader in Dallas, Texas

61 months ago

Are middle aged people considered for law enforcement careers? I worked in corrections for 13 and 1/2 years. I left it for the rail road a few years ago and I got laid off because of the economy. I always wanted to be a police officer but I got hired by the prison system when I graduated from college and I just never got out of it until the Rail Road offered me big bucks to come and work for them. I have applied to several police departments since I was laid off and I just haven't gotten any offers. I am considering paying my own way through the police officer academy at the community college but I am a little afraid of spending the time and money, and then never getting a job. I am afraid that maybe I am being rejected because I am too old to start this as a career. Can anyone give me any advice in this area. I have a solid work history, clean back ground, good credit history, and I'm not crazy. There really is no reason I shouldn't be hired that I can think of.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (67) / No (36) Reply - Report abuse

NathanNiel in Los Angeles

60 months ago

Hi,

Since you have crossed the age limit of Texas you are not able to apply for police recruitment. You can try for other jobs in traffic management.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (12) / No (34) Reply - Report abuse

lapd wannabe in Closter, New Jersey

59 months ago

I'm not sure why you're so concerned. As long as you apply to police depts. without a max. age requirement your resume speaks for itself. College graduate with 13 plus years in corrections, clean background, you shouldn't have a problem getting in somewhere. I'm actually surprised you're even worried compared to other posts I've read.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (15) / No (7) Reply - Report abuse