Getting Into Project Management

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

Econdude in Hillsboro, Oregon

27 months ago

I would like to move into Project Management, but don't have a clue as to how I should launch. I have an MBA from a good school, and was captivated by the PM knowledge and how it fits with my personality type. The problem is I have no prior experience, need 4,500 hours to sit for the PMP certification, but I need to have my PMP before most companies would even consider hiring me. How can I overcome this barrier? Do you just have to get lucky and get with a firm and hope they ask you to manage projects so you can get your hours in?

Any advise on how to get started would be appreciated. I have the educational hours satisfied with my Operations and Change Management coursework in Graduate School.

Thanks in advance!
Econdude

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

Radhia Benalia in Lebanon

27 months ago

Go for CAPM. It's a PMI certification that does not require years of experience. It will show that employers you are dedicated to Project Management, and you can get the experience required once you're hired.

With Best,

Radhia Benalia, PMP

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No Reply - Report abuse

Unix Brat in Asheville, North Carolina

27 months ago

Econdude in Hillsboro, Oregon said: How can I overcome this barrier? Do you just have to get lucky and get with a firm and hope they ask you to manage projects so you can get your hours in?

If you actually have what it takes to be a PM, "luck" will not figure into the equation.

In most cases, there will be no hand-holding. When things go wrong, the project manager gets the blame. Oftentimes rightfully so. No one will listen to excuses.

If you are tougher than nails, can be very persuasive, prove that you can deliver results, and be willing to wear a target on your back 24x7, then I wish you godspeed.