Is a career in quality assurance for me?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Stacy in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

79 months ago

I am graduating from school in September with a Bachelor's in Computer Information Systems. I'm currently working as help desk support, but wanted to get more into software developement aspect of things. I enjoy working with software, but I don't want to be a programmer. I was looking into the possibility of working in quality assurance. I see the job descritions and it seems like something that I would be interested in. During a previous internship, I did do a bit of software testing and enjoyed it. I was wondering what I need to do to prepare myself for this type of position, seeing how I have no real experience in it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No Reply - Report abuse

Ed Cook in Indianapolis, Indiana

76 months ago

Stacy in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania said: I am graduating from school in September with a Bachelor's in Computer Information Systems. I'm currently working as help desk support, but wanted to get more into software developement aspect of things. I enjoy working with software, but I don't want to be a programmer. I was looking into the possibility of working in quality assurance. I see the job descritions and it seems like something that I would be interested in. During a previous internship, I did do a bit of software testing and enjoyed it. I was wondering what I need to do to prepare myself for this type of position, seeing how I have no real experience in it.

If you're still interested - there are three sorts of preparation:
1.) Read books about testing and practice them.
2.) Try finding some sort of curricula that's actually taken seriously (good luck).
3.) Purchase automated testing solutions and practice with them (this can be pretty expensive)