Getting Started as a Quant Analyst

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

Pat in Miami, Florida

73 months ago

I have a PHD in Educational Psychology (Major: Quantitative Methods and Statistics) and I am a Tenure track Asst. Prof.(statistics and research methods) to grad students at a state university in FL. I have excellent Math, Stat, and research skills and I am looking for a career change into becoming a quantitative analyst. Can anyone suggest how I can go about this change? I have a business certificate from my graduate degree (construction management). Will I need another degree? If so, which one? If not, how can I get some basic training to get into the field?
Please help

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Vic in Winston Salem, North Carolina

73 months ago

If you know SAS then you can easly get into banking as quantitative analyst. Contact recruiters at www.analyticrecruiting.com. This is the group of nice recruiters, they will work really well with you. Make sure your resume reflect some of the practical research that you have done during your grad study or even as a tenure prof.

Good luck

Vic

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

Pat in Miami, Florida

73 months ago

Thank you very much Vic. Meanwhile, I am also looking to take some basic courses in the finance dept here at my University to get a hold of what it means to work as a Hedge Fund analyst/Risk Modeler. Right now I have no idea what would be a suitable fit because I know very little abt the industry. I saw that they offer courses in Financial Risk Management, Corporate Finance, and Global Financial Strategy. Could you suggest what would be a good course to enroll in?

Vic in Winston Salem, North Carolina

73 months ago