Is there any Radiation Therapists or people studying Radiation therapy out there?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (1 to 50 of 627)
Page:   1  2  3  4  Next »   Last »

DAVE in Noblesville, Indiana

76 months ago

Johnny in Spanish Fork, Utah said: I'm interested in studying radiation therapy or respiratory therapy. But I can't seem to find any Radiation therapists.

I want to find out what's this field all about, what do you do, your responsibilities, what type of education do you need, and the stress level of your job or studies.

Any help is appreciated. =]

lET ME KMOW IF U ARE STILL LOOKING FOR ANSWERS

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (15) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Niccole in Merrillville, Indiana

75 months ago

Hi, the location is acutally Homewood, IL.
I have been a therapist 13 years and the field is very different now with all the new technology.
The great things about the field are the pay (new grads coming out can get $25/hr), the hours (non mega hospitals) usually are 8-4:30pm clinics with call very rarely and weekends rare too. You usually have 2-3 docs on staff and a patient load of 30 per machine is very low stress. When u get into 45 per machine the stress level goes up. Education requirements are 2 yr certificate but if you search online and look at jobs that are posted most employers want you to have your Bachelors (which alot of us do).

the bad things are:it's hard to get a job in some regions where they have therapy schools like in Illinois and Northwest Indiana, Texas and Minnesota. Other than that the sky's the limit. BUT it is also very competitive to get into the program. Most programs only accept 10-14 students per year. Moving up the ladder is virtually non-existent. It is very hard to move up to supervisor. People usually stay in their jobs for years and lead therapist positions usually aren't available.

any other questions feel free.