Trainee Hours

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (37)

angelstar in Canyon Country, California

66 months ago

I am a trainee having a hard time getting hours. Appraisers that I have worked for say, a trainee can not sign on the left side of an appraisal report after completing an appraisal and that they can only be mentioned in the addendum for assisting.
The supervisor appraiser has to sign on the left side, which means that they are confirming that they have phyically inspected the property. In order for a trainee to get hours for doing a appraisal does a supervisor appraiser and a trainee both have to inspect the property? Does anyone have any suggestions on how a trainee who has about 1000 hours get hours?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (15) / No (6) Reply - Report abuse

John in Atlanta, Georgia

65 months ago

It really depends on the state that you are appraising in. In Georgia the mentor has to inspect the first 20 appraisals with you and after that you are on your own. Also if you have already got you 1000 hours you might be able to make up the rest using your own home, family members homes, friends homes etc. These types of appraisals can not be more than 1/2 or 1/3 of the total hours of your training period. I am not sure if it is 1/2 or 1/3 you will have to check. Also there is a couple of websites that might be helpful to you. Appraisersforum.com Georgiaappraiser.com and appraiserjobs.com. It is going to be very hard in this industry for the next year or so but if you can hang in there.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

*N* in Santa Maria, California

64 months ago

Gosh, unless things have changed in the past two years...you are allowed to sign the appraisal report on the left. The supervising appraiser signs on the right. Their is a box he can check to state that he also physically inspected it.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (9) / No Reply - Report abuse