Advice for RRT new grad

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (7)

newgradrrt in Texas

16 months ago

I graduated from school and just got my RRT. The one hospital that is in the same city I live in interviewed me and I didn't get the job. The closet hiring hospitals are over an hour away, and the freeway to them closes when the roads get bad on the winter. My husband and I don't plan on staying here forever so he suggested I go back to school and get my bachelor's. I am just wondering if that is a good move. I feel like job experience would be better, as I would like to eventually apply for PA school. I don't want to have an even bigger gap on my resume when I go to apply for a job. Any suggestions??

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

jrmavc in you'll never know, California

16 months ago

newgradrrt in Texas said: I graduated from school and just got my RRT. The one hospital that is in the same city I live in interviewed me and I didn't get the job. The closet hiring hospitals are over an hour away, and the freeway to them closes when the roads get bad on the winter. My husband and I don't plan on staying here forever so he suggested I go back to school and get my bachelor's. I am just wondering if that is a good move. I feel like job experience would be better, as I would like to eventually apply for PA school. I don't want to have an even bigger gap on my resume when I go to apply for a job. Any suggestions??

Go for the experience. A bachelor's in RT is useless, you don't get paid any better. the bachelor's degree is only useful for when you go for your PA.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Allegory in Barrington, Rhode Island

16 months ago

I have heard over and over that before you go after your BS you want to get experience and cement yourself as a therapist.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (1) Reply - Report abuse

DNA in Royal Oak, Michigan