Children's Hospital Los Angeles

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (40)

jrmavc in you'll never know, California

14 months ago

CHLA has a residency program for new RCP graduates or RCPs with less than 1 year of experience.

I graduated June 2011 and didn't find employment 'til this year as per diem in another hospital in February of this year, 2013.

So I applied in 2011, 2012 and 2013. For the 2013 application I even got my PALS and NPS to seem like a good candidate. So basically I'm an RRT-NPS with PALS which they highly desire! Go figure.

The application was available on May 10, 2013 at 9:00 AM. I woke up at 5 AM that morning to await when it would become available. Well, after applying I called HR to make sure my application was received and I was told that I was the very first person to apply.

Today I received this message:

"Dear[ name omitted,]

Thank you for your application and interest in the RCP Residency program for August 2013 cohort. We received an overwhelming amount of applications for the program; unfortunately, we regret to inform you that you were not selected to interview. Please visit our website at www.chla.org/rcpresidency for more information and important dates regarding the next RCP Residency program.

Thank you for your interest in the RCP Residency and CHLA!

Human Resources, Children's Hospital Los Angeles"

There will be no next time, since I will already be working for 1 year. I just don't understand how they select their applicants. I'm not even sure they go through all the applications.

RT has been the biggest mistake of my life. I should've studied something else. This career is non productive and everyone you meet is negative about this profession. I just became another negative person. No good doors have opened in my face.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (2) Reply - Report abuse

14 months ago

Update:

I sent a letter and spoke to HR.