current respiratory therapy student and i want out

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (16)

minnie min in anywhere land, Washington

9 months ago

I'm a second year student, finished all of my competencies, got one more semester and a summer left of classes and clinicals yet I DO NOT want to be a respiratory therapist. I do not want to work in a hospital as a patient care provider, I love the patients but I do not want to do the work. I do not want to work holidays, I do not want to work 12 hours shifts, I AM ALREADY BURNED OUT, I am tired of the complaining therapist, I do not like the negative unhappy person that I am becoming! I have worked a job that I have despised for 6 years and I left that job to pursue an RT career but I am burning out quicker while in school for RT than I have ever burned out of a job. I am on the verge of failing 4 out of 5 of my classes this semester due to my lack of wanting to be a therapist(which BTW I started out making A's in the first 2 months) I don't want to let down my family and my boyfriend who has encouraged me the past year and 1/2. I want to be a writer, Iwant freedom, I want a job that I love and am passionate about. I do not want to be a RT like my aunt. I thought I did but I DON'T. I don't want to lose my financial aid. I was thinking of Health Information Technology or Social Work but I am just so confused. I pray and I pray but nothing! What's a girl to DO! ...sign

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (4) Reply - Report abuse

Lola in Dallas, Texas

9 months ago