Id rather be an Assistant Store Manager than a Store Manager Anyday! Anyone Else?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

retailchick74 in Baltimore, Maryland

67 months ago

I left a career in counseling to work in retail. I was hired as a Store Manager right away! I have a degree and some business training.I loved my salary. The first company I worked for the hours were not that bad. The next two companies however worked me to death. The last two stores required a minimum. of 44 hours during non peak season then a minimum of 6 day weeks with 50 plus hours at christmas and inventory time. I made a decent salary but earned every penny. I missed many of my kids functions because I was chained to the store.If someone was sick injured or quit their shift became my shift! UGH! I had a friend who kept telling me to take an assistant manager position instead she had just downgraded herself as well! She is happier then she ever has been. I took an assistant job and so far im loving it. I still earn almost the same but none of that silly meetings crap or excessive paperwork. I do my displays make sure the money is right and help build our brand and team. I never work more then 40 hours and when I do its at $35 plus dollars and hour! Im no longer missing most of my kids events. I enjoy being on the sales floor and interacting with my customers not chained to paperwork and corporate BS. I added the additional hours for my last store manager position and the total hours worked over forty were 280.. which would equal an additional 7 work weeks (at 40 hours a week)!!! The additional salary for that is less then 4,000! OUCH! Big Business has always gotten over on middle management but in the case of the Store Manager they sell a naive person on what looks like a decent salary when added up by the hour they are earning very little more then their assitants for giving up so much more of their lives. I also saw a tax break that equaled the di