The best part is...

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Host

What do you enjoy most about security officer work? What do you dislike the most? Is it challenging? Are there many opportunities to learn and advance?

What keeps you at your job?

Reply - Report abuse

Vireginia Zalnoski in Palm Bay, FL

96 months ago

Host said: What do you enjoy most about security officer work? What do you dislike the most? Is it challenging? Are there many opportunities to learn and advance?
What keeps you at your job?

For starters, I am not crazy about security work. I have been doing it for the last 6 years. The pay is low, you have to work weekends and most holidays. You really don't get any benefits that knock your sockls off and you never know what shift you are going to work. I have worked 3rd shift enough, that I won't do it anymore. I am tolo old for it.
Sometimes putting up with irrate people who don't want to follow the rules and get vry adamant in seeing the supervisor. If anything goes down, the Security officer is the one who gets the blame, warranted or not.
The only thing I do like about, is the mobility you have in most places.
If security paid a decent wage, I would not have any gripes,
Too many times they hire off beat people to fill positions! Too many weird people!.
Not to gorget the protection one is afforded as a D licensed security officer is that we are not much more than window dressing. I would have more rights dressed in my civillian clothes then I do wearing a uniform.
Until wages drastically changes, I will only do Security as a floater for the time being.
That is the bottom line truth about Security.
Thank You
Virginia Zalnoski

PS If anyone thinls there is much room for advancement...well, let's not hod our breath on that one.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (1) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Raymond Clark in Park Forest, IL in Chicago, Illinois

94 months ago