Hope for Social Workers?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

JediCandy in Wyandotte, Michigan

19 months ago

I'm not one, but I was thinking of becoming one. I'm a graduate of an MLT program and am considering majoring in Social Work this time around. I'm good with people, I love helping people, honestly...I'm terrified of the paychecks I hear about, I'm terrified there won't be any openings in social work.

The me I am - a behavioral scientist. The me I think I should be - medical scientist. All because of that ridiculous paycheck and job availability. Have any of you struggled with this mindset?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

Jacky in Everett, Washington

19 months ago

One thing to keep in mind....job availability is not static but always subject the economical rollercoasters, politics, etc. Who knows what the future holds for certain professional fields. Remember when the recession hit and so many capable MBA holders couldn't find work?
Also, if we all chased paychecks there would be no Gandhi, Jane Adams, Mother Teresa, etc.
Personal experience:
A big part of social work is empowering the economically disadvantaged. Many of these people have not had the luxury of choice, being born into poverty and or going through hard times. When you see extreme poverty ( persons struggling to meet basic needs such as food, shelter), in affluent America, not making 100,000 a year doesn't matter. Humans matter.

Psalm100 in North Carolina

19 months ago