Im a German Social Worker looking into jobs in Northern California / Bay Area.

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (8)

Caspar in Berlin, Germany

43 months ago

Hi Guys,

I am a German social worker, working with teenager here in Berlin. Im working in a (kind of) youth center / school. In fact our youth club is based in the building of a Berlin High School. My client group are teenagers typically within the age span of 12 to 19. In my personal work, out of that age range, I work more with kids age 12 to 14.

Reason why I am asking / want to get in touch with people active in social work (preferably in the BAy Area):

My girlfriend is American, originally from San Francisco, her family lives here and so does she most of the time. After having a distance relation for almost 3 years (with a lot of traveling to each other and 6 months she lived in Berlin in 2010), she will start to go to Law School this coming August.

We decided that I will try to re-locate with her to San Francisco by the end of 2011. That's why I somehow have to plan this adventure and beside the visa situation, the other mayor issue to solve will be my personal working situation. I do have only a couple years of working experience yet, but am 32 years old and (if I get the work permit somehow) dont want to do minor jobs but something fitting my career / CV / interest.

I have an idea that social work and its condition frame in the US is pretty different than here in Germany. Nevertheless, I would be brave and excited enough to try it and come there. I never really understood your education programs on that field. That's why I am not sure if the German degree I hold is any how similar to the US. In fact, I am not even sure my degree would be compatible to what social worker there hold.

In this early stage of my working-out-progress, it could be essential to get in touch with people who are working in that field and do have contacts and experiences to share.