Recent MSW Grad & Jobless

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

New grad in Ravenna, Ohio

30 months ago

I graduated May 2012 from a fully accreditted MSW program. I had a 4.0 GPA and even received a scholarship during the program. I had two internships- one year was at a Public Middle School and the other at the local VA Hospital doing Medical Social Work. I recently passed my Clinical test and should be receiving my licensure in the next few weeks. I feel like I worked my BUTT off the last 7-8 years to be a great student... I often worked full-time or part-time and I also have a family. I really feel like I did a lot to do everything right these last two years so get the best and most out of the program I could.

Now- fast forward and I can't find a job. I was supposed to receive a temporary job with the VA but because I was no longer a student I couldn't be placed in the position and they haven't had any openings I'm qualified for. I figured it wouldn't be a huge deal with my grades and recommendations but I've applied to over 65 places and I've only had one call back and one interview (same place). I'm just a little depressed, anxious... I'm just wondering how long it took others to find a job in this market and what advice do you have?

I live in NE Ohio so there's already a TON of unemployment- lots of competition and low wages... I really only need a temporary job- should I just apply for something non-social work related? I feel horrible for asking that- I want to work in the field I went to school but I'm also realistic and I can't go without a job for another month.

Thank you for any advice!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

vejay in Coppell, Texas

30 months ago

Have you tried Big Brother Big Sister? That's a nice place to work.
Also, are you willing to locate? Maybe look at some VA openings around the country...

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse