Social Worker Salary

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (4)

Angelika22 in New York

41 months ago

Hi, I am a college student who is torn between becoming an OT and a Social Worker. There are two factors, one being job availability and salary. I know money is not the most important thing in a job but it is a factor for everyone or else they would be working for free. I know an OT makes great money but I'm not sure how much they make particularly in NY , I know I wouldn't make as much as an OT but I really don't want to spend so much time and money to get a Master's degree and end up making 30 to 40 thousand dollars.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (2) / No Reply - Report abuse

socialwkr in Missouri

41 months ago

Angelika22 in New York said: Hi, I am a college student who is torn between becoming an OT and a Social Worker. There are two factors, one being job availability and salary. I know money is not the most important thing in a job but it is a factor for everyone or else they would be working for free. I know an OT makes great money but I'm not sure how much they make particularly in NY , I know I wouldn't make as much as an OT but I really don't want to spend so much time and money to get a Master's degree and end up making 30 to 40 thousand dollars.

Hi Angelika22...............since these fields are VASTLY different from each other, a factor for me if I had to make the decision would be which field was a better fit for for me in what I wanted to do with my life as a professional. And I would also look at what fit best with my personality and my interests.

You may have already done this, but taking a look at the course work for various degree programs I found was also very helpful for me in choosing a major. As well as speaking with professionals in your field of interest.

www.payscale.com/research/US/Job=Occupational_Therapist_(OT)/Salary