Social Worker

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (10)

sarouvak in Winter Haven, Florida

47 months ago

I have been a social worker/counselor for many years. Several months ago I needed to leave my job for family reasons. When things settled down I started looking for employment. What a shock to discover there are no jobs here.
I have a BSW and many years of experience but nothing has happened. It's somewhat disillusioning but I know there are so many others out there in worse situations.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (4) / No Reply - Report abuse

socialwkr in Missouri

47 months ago

sarouvak in Winter Haven, Florida said: I have been a social worker/counselor for many years. Several months ago I needed to leave my job for family reasons. When things settled down I started looking for employment. What a shock to discover there are no jobs here.
I have a BSW and many years of experience but nothing has happened. It's somewhat disillusioning but I know there are so many others out there in worse situations.

I hear ya sarouvak! One of the reasons I ended up pursuing my MSW is that I could not find a job with a BSW. It seems like the BS level degrees now in our society are like a high school diploma. Physical Therapy programs are now requiring their students to get a PhD!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

T.S. in Minneapolis, Minnesota

47 months ago

socialwkr in Missouri said: I hear ya sarouvak! One of the reasons I ended up pursuing my MSW is that I could not find a job with a BSW. It seems like the BS level degrees now in our society are like a high school diploma. Physical Therapy programs are now requiring their students to get a PhD!

Do you regret pursuing a MSW? Are there still jobs out there? Can you think of any alternative yet similar careers? Thanks for any advice!

sarouvak in Winter Haven, Florida

47 months ago

You are absolutely right. Good Luck on your Masters.