Undergrad college student: What jobs are good for me?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

Julie Jenson in Massachusetts

35 months ago

I am a sophomore and right now a psych major. I want to get a BA in psych however i do not want to become a psychologist because people say psychologist don't make much really and i'd be in all of that debt trying to get a PH.D and I don't know if i'd want that much schooling if I won't make much. So I thought I would get a BA in psych and then get my masters in social work and then get a license and if that didn't work out before even getting my license and i didn't like social work then i would do my best to get into nursing school and combine my degrees of social work and psych and either do case management or just regular nursing.

I am not good at math or science at all but i want to make good money. Is it possible for somebody who isn't good at math and science to work hard and do well at a job that involves math and science? I wanted to do social work because i want to counsel people and help people but it seems underpaid. Where i live on salary.com it says that pay with a BA in social work(which i don't need since i have a BA in psych) is $49,460 annually..With a Masters the pay is $58,229 annually and with a license its $52,584 annually. This doesn't make sense..why do licensed clinical social workers make less than someone with only a Masters degree? Is this accurate?

anyways can you throw out some ideas of what I can do for a career choice where i help people. I saw somewhere on here people mentioned occupational therapy helps people and you make more money. What exactly do they do and how much do they make, and how long is the schooling?

Sorry for all of the questions i'm just overwhelmed and stressed with needing to figure out a major soon!

- Was this comment helpful? Yes / No Reply - Report abuse

onesw in Vancouver, British Columbia

35 months ago