looking to switch out of social work

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (14)

AMB in Wyoming, Michigan

60 months ago

Hi

I graduated my BSW. I went into the program with high expectation and came out with so many doubts. I wish I would have listened to my gut and changed majors at the beginning, but I thought there would be a light at the end of the tunnel. I have been constantly looking for jobs with no luck. I'm sick of competing with MSW's for entry-level positions and I have no desire to go back to school for my MSW. I recently took a job in retail, but it's not nearly enough for me to pay back the money I owe in student loans. I want to go back to school but I have no idea what direction to take. For those who have switched out, what path have you taken? What could be a somewhat easy transition? I like such a failure :(

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (25) / No (3) Reply - Report abuse

Mary in Randolph, Massachusetts

60 months ago

Hi there - I feel for you, believe me. You are NOT a failure. You completed a bachelor's degree. That's a great accomplishment. Truly.

I wish I had some suggestions for you as far as switching careers. I'm wondering what I can do myself. I like helping people, but you can't pay bills with meaningful work. I was googling info on what you can do with a social work degree other than social work and found your post.