I need a job!!!

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

bekalyn81 in Bloomer, Wisconsin

39 months ago

I am a licensed social worker living in a small town in Wisconsin. I have a bachelor's degree and graduated in December of 2004. I have YET to get a job in social work, and am looking for advice on what I should do. I have a 4 year old son and live with my boyfriend who is the father of my son. My boyfriend runs a business with his father, and is not at all interested in moving to a bigger city. Our families also live here, and provide us with tremendous support when it comes to watching our son while we are working. Therefore, relocating is not an option.
I am currently working as a bar manager and I also volunteer at a local Adult Day Service program. I have gone to numerous interviews and they all question my lack of experience. I did my internship in college at a juvenile detention center and have also worked with developmentally disabled adults for the past seven years. But my job title has never been social worker so it doesn't seem good enough for anybody that interviews me. How am I supposed to get any experience when nobody will give me that first chance?!!
I have recently developed a business plan for opening my own Adult Day Service program. I have done the research and found that there is a demand for these services in my county. Does anybody have any other ideas for starting my own business as a social worker in a small town?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (3) / No Reply - Report abuse

Ranaye in Indianapolis, Indiana

39 months ago