opinions regarding a post MSW graduate certificate

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (3)

darnell239 in Columbia, South Carolina

72 months ago

I would like to hear some opinions about working on a graduate certificate. I am a MSW graduated in 2002 but never held an "actual social work job." Yes, I do have work experience in the human service field and use to be a special ed teacher (completely burned out from that). I do have a LMSW and would like to work towards my LISW but can't find a real social work related job to earn to work experience. I have a lot of experience working with children in the school system but I want to move into a different direction. I want to focus on an area of social work where there is a growing need, possibly job security, and hopefully decent pay. The university where I live offers a graduate certificat in Drug and Alcohol studies and in the process of offering a new certificate program for military social work. I do want to mention I am a disable vet with a 20% disability rating. I would love to work with veterans. Can anybody give me an opinion about pursuing a graduate certificate and if you believe it is a good idea, should I focus on drug & alcohol studies or military social work?

By the way, I live near a VA center and have applied for jobs in the past with them and never received a response back. I know that it is difficult to obtain employment with VA. I do realize that I don't have to work for the VA to help the activie duty military personnel,families or veterans. I would love to have some guidance, advice, and insight from experienced social workers out there. Thanks for your help.

- Was this comment helpful?
Yes
/ No
Reply - Report abuse

Phil in Atlanta, Georgia

69 months ago