Support job versus Development job, what is better?

Get new comments by email
You can cancel email alerts at anytime.
Comments (5)

jims8507 in Granbury, Texas

46 months ago

I have thirty five years of experience in software engineering. This is my opinion of support versus development in software engineering. Hope this information helps you.
1. Education - Most companies want their development software engineers to have at least a BS degree. With good experience, a person may be able to advance into a development engineer position, without a formal education, but his/her career advancement will be limited.
2. A development engineer will work sitting at a desk for 8 or more hours a day. Eventually, this can be detrimental to your health.
3. The development engineer will be more affected by the stress of project scheduling.
4. A support engineer is more likely to be up and around and even traveling to a remote site to do his work.
5. A support engineer will be working away from home and family more.
6. A development engineer will make more money.
7. A support engineer will mostly be working to solve the development engineers problem.
8. Both development and support positions can be very rewarding. Education should be the deciding factor.

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (11) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

Ravi Jaiswal in Bangalore, India

33 months ago

I am in support but i wanted to be in the development ............
so what do you think
which one is better ?
support or development ?

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (10) / No (10) Reply - Report abuse

Nanodevwiz in Edmonton, Alberta

32 months ago

Development = Top of the food chain
Support = Much lower on the food chain

- Was this comment helpful? Yes (5) / No (5) Reply - Report abuse

santosh in Mumbai, India

22 months ago